Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAA T&F DAY 1: Phillips, 4x100 Relay Advance To Event Finals

NCAA T&F DAY 1: Phillips, 4x100 Relay Advance To Event Finals

NCAA DIVISION II OUTDOOR TRACK & FIELD CHAMPIONSHIPS – DAY 1

4x100 RELAY QUALIFIES FOR FINALS

For the second consecutive year, Northwood will have a men's 4x100 meter relay in the finals.

The quartet of sophomores Austin Hamlet and Mason Phillips, senior Rami Gharsalli and freshman Andrew Davis ran 40.73 seconds to finish second in their heat to automatically qualify for finals. They will go into Saturday's final with the fifth-fastest time.

This will be Northwood's second First-Team All-American finish in program history.

PHILLIPS THROUGH TO 100 FINALS

In the men's 100 meters, Phillips ran an all-conditions personal best of 10.29 seconds to qualify for the event finals. His time placed him third in his heat and will have the fourth-fastest time going into Saturday's final. Although a personal best for the school record holder, the time does not break his school record due to being a wind-aided time (+4.1).

Phillips will become Northwood's first All-American in the 100 meters pending completion of the finals. 

REMAINING NCAA LINEUP

FRIDAY, MAY 22

Mason Phillips – 200 Meters (Prelims) - 5:50 p.m. CST/6:50 p.m. EST

Rami Gharsalli – 110 Meter Hurdles (Prelims) - 6:55 p.m. CST/7:55 p.m. EST

SATURDAY, MAY 23

Austin Hamlet, Mason Phillips, Rami Gharsalli, Andrew Davis – 4x100 Relay (Finals) - 5:20 p.m. CST/6:20 p.m. EST

Rami Gharsalli – 110 Meter Hurdles (Finals if qualify) - 6:05 p.m. CST/7:05 p.m. EST

Mason Phillips – 100 Meters (Finals) – 6:45 p.m. CST/7:45 p.m. EST

Mason Phillips - 200 Meters (Finals if qualify) - 7:55 p.m. CST/8:55 p.m. EST

 

Lauren Ellsworth / T&F