Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAA T&F DAY 2: Phillips Earns Second-Team All-America Honors

Mason Phillips
Mason Phillips

NCAA DIVISION II OUTDOOR TRACK & FIELD CHAMPIONSHIPS – DAY 2

PHILLIPS SECOND-TEAM ALL-AMERICAN

Sophomore Mason Phillips earned Second-Team All-American honors in the 200 meters upon a 11th place finish overall, clocking 21.38 seconds. With his finish, he became the first Northwood athlete to earn All-America honors in the event.

Phillips will be competing in two finals tomorrow for First-Team All-America honors – the 100 meters and as a member of the 4x100 meter relay.

GHARSALLI COMPETES IN 110MH

Senior Rami Gharsalli placed 15th overall in the 110 meter hurdle prelims, crossing the line in 14.44 seconds in his respective heat. His collegiate hurdle career comes to a close as a three-time NCAA Qualifier and an All-American after a sixth-place finish in 2017. He is the first All-American in the event and owns the second-fastest time in school history at 13.92 seconds.

Gharsalli will run a leg in the 4x100 meter relay finals for First-Team All-America honors.

REMAINING NCAA LINEUP

SATURDAY, MAY 23

Austin Hamlet, Mason Phillips, Rami Gharsalli, Andrew Davis – 4x100 Relay (Finals) - 5:20 p.m. CST/6:20 p.m. EST

Mason Phillips – 100 Meters (Finals) – 6:45 p.m. CST/7:45 p.m. EST

 

Lauren Ellsworth / T&F